Elliot Norton Awards Spreads the Love in Virtual Ceremony - Winners Announced

Outstanding Musical Production "Parade" at Moonbox Productions | Photo: Sharman Altshuler
Kobi Kassal
No items found.
May 10, 2020 8:00 PM

While this year’s Boston theatre season might have been cut short, the 38th Annual Elliot Norton Awards soldiered on with its entertaining virtual ceremony on May 11.

Moonbox Productions’ celebrated Parade took home three Nortons including Outstanding Musical Production. The Huntington Theatre Company, the Arlekin Players Theatre, and The Nora and Underground Railway at Central Square Theater received four awards each including Outstanding Production for The Purists, The Stone, and Cloud 9, respectively. For visiting productions, we saw Nortons awarded to Indecent at the Huntington, SIX at the American Repertory Theater for Outstanding Ensemble, American Utopia’s pre-Broadway tryout, as well as Ben Levi Ross in the national tour of Dear Evan Hansen for Outstanding Performance.  

The night also included a touching tribute to the late Johnny Lee Davenport who was awarded the Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence. StageSource produced an incredible parody of Hamilton's You'll Be Back entitled We Will Be Back featuring a large assortment of Boston's best actors.

A full list of winners can be found below.

Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence

Johnny Lee Davenport

Special Citation

“Shear Madness” which opened in Boston and just ended its 40-year run as one of the longest-running non-musical plays in the world

Outstanding Musical Production

“Parade,” Moonbox Productions

Outstanding Production, Large Theater

“The Purists,” Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Production, Midsize Theater

“Cloud 9,” The Nora at Central Square Theater

Outstanding Production, Small or Fringe Company

“The Stone,” Arlekin Players Theatre

Outstanding Solo Performance

Billy Meleady, “the smuggler,” Boston Playwrights’ Theatre

Outstanding Direction, Large Theater

Rachel Chavkin, “Moby-Dick,” American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Direction, Midsize Theater

Lee Mikeska Gardner, “Cloud 9,” The Nora at Central Square Theater

Outstanding Direction, Small or Fringe Theater

Igor Golyak, “The Stone,” Arlekin Players Theatre

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actor

Aaron Patterson, “Parade,” Moonbox Productions

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actress

Katrina Z Pavao, “Little Shop of Horrors,” Lyric Stage Company of Boston

Outstanding Actor, Large Theater

Eric Berryman, “Detroit Red,” ArtsEmerson

Outstanding Actor, Midsize Theater (In Memory of Gabriel Kuttner)

Kadahj Bennett, “Pass Over,” SpeakEasy Stage Company and The Front Porch Arts Collective

Outstanding Actor, Small or Fringe Theater

Nael Nacer, “The Return,” Israeli Stage

Outstanding Actress, Large Theater

Analisa Velez, “The Purists,” Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Actress, Midsize Theater

Paula Plum, “The Children,” SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Actress, Small or Fringe Theater

Darya Denisova, “The Stone,” Arlekin Players Theatre

Outstanding Ensemble, Large Theater

“Sweat,” Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Ensemble, Midsize Theater  (In Memory of Margarita Damaris Martínez)

“black odyssey boston,” Underground Railway at Central Square Theater and The Front Porch Arts Collective

Outstanding Ensemble, Small or Fringe Theater

“The Strange Undoing of Prudencia Hart,” Apollinaire Theatre Company

Outstanding New Script

“Detroit Red” by Will Power, ArtsEmerson

Outstanding Design, Large Theater

“Moby-Dick,” American Repertory Theater

Scenic design by Mimi Lien; costume design by Brenda Abbandandolo; lighting design by Bradley King; sound design by Hidenori Nakajo; puppet design by Eric F. Avery; wig, hair and make-up design by Rachel Padula-Shufelt

Outstanding Design, Midsize Theater

“Vanity Fair,”  Underground Railway at Central Square Theater

Scenic design by David R. Gammons; costume design by Leslie Held; lighting design by Jeff Adelberg; sound design by David Wilson; properties coordinated by Ciara McAloon

Outstanding Design, Small or Fringe Theater

“The Seagull,” Arlekin Players Theatre

Scenic design by Nikolay Simonov; costume design by Nastya Bugaeva; lighting design by Jeff Adelberg

Outstanding Musical Direction

Catherine Stornetta, “Parade,” Moonbox Productions

Outstanding Choreography

Ilyse Robbins, “Swan Lake in Blue,” Greater Boston Stage Company

Outstanding Visiting Production, Non-Musical

“Indecent,” Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Visiting Production, Musical

“American Utopia,” Ambassador Theatre Group

Outstanding Visiting Musical Performance

Ben Levi Ross, “Dear Evan Hansen,” Broadway In Boston

Outstanding Visiting Musical Ensemble

“Six,” American Repertory Theater (Adrianna Hicks, Andrea Macasaet, Abby Mueller, Brittney Mack, Courtney Mack and Anna Uzele)

*This article originally appeared on Theatre Talk Boston.

No items found.
Kobi Kassal

Hailing from sunny South Florida, Kobi Kassal founded Theatrely (formerly Theatre Talk Boston) while attending Boston University. He is an avid theatre attender and can be found seeing a performance most nights of the week (in normal times!) He is interested in the cross section of theatre, popular culture, hospitality, and politics. He also loves a good bagel!

No items found.