read more

More than 17 months after COVID-19 forced theatres around the country to cancel performances, Papermill Playhouse is back and rocking it to the rafters with a vibrant revival of Jason Robert Brown’s Songs for a New World. “Songs for a Thousand Cabarets” could be the alternative title for this revue-like collection of ardent musical theatre-pop-soliloquies given its popularity with soloists and cabaret artists. Those artists include stars as varied as Karen Akers, Betty Buckley, Audra McDonald, and Shoshana Bean―not to mention hundreds of thousands of aspirants around the world. Having grown up belting the original cast recording with my musical theatre friends as we skipped to rehearsal, I have always loved the show. But going into this Mark S. Hoebee directed production, I found myself wondering, “How does the full show of stand-alone solos, duets, and quartets stack up 26 years after its premiere?” As led by the sensational Carolee Carmello, as brilliantly as it did back in 1995.

read more

Sweating Out THE FEVER — Review

October 17, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 17, 2021

You have to feel bad for the sole character in The Fever, Wallace Shawn’s 1990 monologue which just opened in a new production starring Lili Taylor at the Audible Theatre at Minetta Lane Theatre. The only thing worse than spending a night with your head in a porcelain bowl is doing so with a troubled mind, terminally regretful of every single thing you did to wind up here. Maybe you even start thinking about the state of the world, paralleling your own face-down demise to larger, global themes. The difference between such nights and this one-act performance, though, is that one is usually content to grab the toothpaste and move on.

read more

DANA H., Finally On Broadway, Mesmerizes — Review

October 17, 2021

By

Noah Pattillo

on

October 17, 2021

The astonishing new thriller Dana H. opened tonight at the Lyceum Theatre on Broadway, our review.

read more

THE LEHMAN TRILOGY Trades Greed for Gold — Review

October 14, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 14, 2021

A review of The Lehman Trilogy on Broadway, by Stefano Massini and adapted by Ben Power, which is now in performance at the Nederlander Theatre on West 41st Street in New York City.
read more

THOUGHTS OF A COLORED MAN Writ Large and Unoriginal — Review

October 13, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 13, 2021

A Broadway review of Thoughts of a Colored Man, a new play by Keenan Scott II and directed by Steve H. Broadnax III and is now in performance at the John Golden Theatre on West 45th Street in New York City.

read more

LETTERS OF SURESH At Second Stage Folds Into A Beautiful Narrative — Review

October 13, 2021

By

Noah Pattillo

on

October 13, 2021

When I walked into the Tony Kiser Theatre on Sunday, I was greeted by a bluish-grey set with a desk downstage and a bench upstage, muted colored mountains traced the wings. Over the next 90 minutes, an intricate play about long distance companionship, and origami, glowingly unfolded itself. This new play, Letters of Suresh, by Rajiv Joseph opened tonight at Second Stage Theatre. The play starts with Melody, a Japanese-Korean woman who’s great-uncle (who she never met) recently passed away. Melody recently returned to Seattle from his funeral in Nagasaki with her great-uncle's only possessions: A box of letters from a man named Suresh. Melody writes a letter to Suresh informing him of her great-uncle's passing and to ask him if he would like his letters back. As the play continues, we learn more about the author of these letters and the relationship between Suresh and Melody’s great-uncle, Father Mitsuo Hashimoto.

More reviews
read more

IS THIS A ROOM Unsettles Reality — Review

October 11, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 11, 2021

Our Chief Critic Juan A. Ramirez reviews Is This A Room on Broadway, which is now in performances at the Lyceum Theatre on West 45th Street in New York City, conceived and directed by Tina Satter.
read more

CHICKEN & BISCUITS Worth Seconds — Review

October 11, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 11, 2021

A review of the new Broadway comedy Chicken & Biscuits which is now in performance at the Circle in the Square Theatre on West 50th Street in New York City.
read more

LACKAWANNA BLUES Hums a Tender Portrait of a Doting Matriarch — Review

October 7, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 7, 2021

Ruben Santiago-Hudson is intimately familiar with Lackawanna Blues, his play which opened Thursday night at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, and not just because he based it on his own upbringing. The one-man ode to the woman who raised him premiered at the Public in 2001, was adapted by HBO in 2005, and has been performed here and there since. And yet, his eyes throughout the show reflect more than a glimmer of the bright lights of Broadway—they spark with the joy of generations and cultures finally expressing themselves on the largest stage in the country.
read more

SIX Earns Its Crown Jewels — Review

October 3, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

October 3, 2021

Juan A. Ramirez reviews Six The Musical, which opened on Broadway tonight and currently plays at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre in New York City.
read more

David Kwong’s THE ENIGMATIST At The Geffen Will Make You Gasp — Review

October 1, 2021

By

Alan Koolik

on

October 1, 2021

Walking into the atrium for The Geffen Playhouse’s The Enigmatist, you are greeted by clumps of audience members peering at clues around the room, trying to solve puzzles before entering the auditorium. These are merely an amuse-bouche for David Kwong’s feast of puzzle, wit, and illusion that will commence shortly. There are ushers at hand to help out with hints, but almost everyone seemed game to get to the solutions on their own. Upon entering the Geffen’s intimate Audrey Skirball Kenis Theater, one notices that the room has been transformed from a traditional theater space to a paneled room that is reminiscent of an old pub, or a vintage study. The walls are lined with knickknacks that appear random, but on closer inspection make up a series of secret codes that exist solely for the audience’s decoding pleasure. 
read more

A COMMERCIAL JINGLE FOR REGINA COMET Opens as First New Musical in New York — Review

September 27, 2021

By

Kobi Kassal

on

September 27, 2021

A review of A Commercial Jingle For Regina Comet which is currently playing at the DR2 Theatre on East 15th Street in New York City through November 14, 2021.
read more

SUN & SEA Makes Its Way To The Shores of America — Review

September 26, 2021

By

Noah Pattillo

on

September 26, 2021

It was fitting that I had to brave a superstorm to get to the theatre to see Sun & Sea, an opera about the impending climate disaster at the Brooklyn Academy of Music. After a critically acclaimed run in Europe, the piece has made its way to the shores of America. “Sun & Sea” plays its final performance at BAM on September 26. Following that, it will embark on a nationwide tour including stops in Philadelphia, Bentonville, AR, and Los Angeles.
read more

LIZASTRATA at the Getty Brings The Laughs — Review

September 24, 2021

By

Alan Koolik

on

September 24, 2021

The Getty Villa, a Los Angeles museum of Greek and Roman antiquities, is not the first location one might think of when mounting a musical tribute to Liza Minnelli. When that musical, however, is based on Aristophanes’ Lysistrata and set in an amphitheater against the backdrop of an ancient Roman villa, everything falls into place. 
read more

DEAR EVAN HANSEN, You Missed Your Chance — Review

September 22, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

September 22, 2021

Critic Juan A. Ramirez reviews Dear Evan Hansen, the film adaptation of the musical which will hit theatres on September 24.
read more

Blank Space: xXPonyBoyDerekXx: an onlyfans experience — Review

September 20, 2021

By

Kyle Turner

on

September 20, 2021

Kyle Turner reviews xXPonyBoyDerekXx, a new theatrical experience on OnlyFans from Brooklyn-based playwright Gage Tarlton and The Misfits Theatre Company.
read more

SPEAKEASY MAGICK at the McKittrick Hotel Astounds — Review

September 15, 2021

By

Kobi Kassal

on

September 15, 2021

Situated in the McKittrick’s Club Car, a dark and hazy locale with dim lights and alcohol flowing, guests are sat at tables with half a dozen or so chairs and might I add some delicious popcorn at Speakeasy Magick. Our review.
read more

Shelagh Stephenson’s Dark Comedy THE MEMORY OF WATER Shines at Hampstead — Review

September 14, 2021

By

Katie Dye

on

September 14, 2021

On paper, The Memory of Water seems like a sombre affair, it follows three sisters as they are reunited for their mother’s funeral and examines their relationships with each other and with their significant others. Currently playing at the Hampstead Theatre through October 16.
read more

Triple-texting THE LAST OF THE LOVE LETTERS — Review

September 13, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

September 13, 2021

Juan A. Ramirez reviews "The Last of the Love Letters” which plays through September 26 at the Linda Gross Theater at the Atlantic Theater Company on 20th Street in New York City.
read more

Y mi mamá también: NI MI MADRE — Review

August 26, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

August 26, 2021

Arturo Luís Soria’s Ni Mi Madre plays at the Rattlestick Playwrights Theater through September 19. Our review for Theatrely.
read more

A New Dawn with PASS OVER — Review

August 25, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

August 25, 2021

Antoinette Chinonye Nwandu's PASS OVER is now open on Broadway at the August Wilson Theatre. Read Juan A. Ramirez's review for Theatrely now.
read more

ISLANDER Hits The Ice — Review

August 23, 2021

By

Noah Pattillo

on

August 23, 2021

A theatrical review of playwright Liza Birkenmeier and director Katie Brook’s Islander, currently playing at the HERE Arts Center through September 4, 2021.
read more

THEATRE FOR ONE: HERE IS FUTURE Is What We Need Right Now — Review

August 15, 2021

By

Noah Pattillo

on

August 15, 2021

I had not seen a micro-play before this afternoon, but let me tell you, after experiencing the sextet of micro-plays at Theatre for One: Here is Future at Brookfield Properties’ Manhattan West Plaza, I can confidently say I’m a micro-play stan.
read more

EVERYBODY’S TALKING ABOUT JAMIE: Twinky Boots — REVIEW

August 14, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

August 14, 2021

Max Harwood stars as Jamie New in Everybody's Talking About Jamie film which lands on Amazon on September 17. Juan A. Ramirez reviews for Theatrely.
read more

WALDEN Thrills At TheaterWorks Hartford — Review

August 10, 2021

By

Kobi Kassal

on

August 10, 2021

Following a world premiere on the West End earlier in May produced by Sonia Friedman, TheaterWorks Hartford has taken this new ambitious drama and produced a rather incredible US Premiere of Amy Berryman's Walden. One of the most thrilling and satisfying nights at the theatre that I have had the pleasure of attending in a very long time — this is one of those performances that will be with you for many days. 
read more

MERRY WIVES: Falstaff & Chill — Review

August 10, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

August 10, 2021

Juan A. Ramirez reviews Jocelyn Bioh's adaptation of The Merry Wives of Windsor currently playing at the Public Theater's Shakespeare in the Park — a celebratino of the joyful pan-African spirit.
read more

Irish Rep’s THE CORDELIA DREAM Brings Rocky Relationships Front and Center | Review

July 29, 2021

By

Kaitlyn Riggio

on

July 29, 2021

A response to Shakespeare’s King Lear, Marina Carr’s The Cordelia Dream, making its North American debut with the Irish Repertory Theatre in New York City, a woman revisits her strained relationship with a man after experiencing a chilling dream about King Lear and his daughter, Cordelia. 
read more

THE TWO CHARACTER PLAY Is The Perfect Amount of Weirdness — Review

July 28, 2021

By

Katie Dye

on

July 28, 2021

Tennessee Williams’s The Two Character Play at the Hampstead Theatre ow follows a pair of actor siblings as they attempt to perform a play after the rest of their cast and crew abandoned them in a theatre in the middle of nowhere. What follows is an incredibly meta performance where actor and character become indistinguishable from each other. 
read more

SPEAKEASY is Sexy Fun in Times Square — Review

July 18, 2021

By

Kobi Kassal

on

July 18, 2021

As you descend the stairs into Bond 45’s cellar, you are immediately handed a rather delicious craft cocktail (the first of five) and shown to your seats for an unforgettable evening of burlesque and belting at Speakeasy: Times Square
read more

I HATE IT HERE at Goodman is a Cathartic End to a Dumpster Year — Review

July 16, 2021

By

Nolan Boggess

on

July 16, 2021

On a deeper note, I Hate It Here from the Goodman Theatre admits that so many horrible things in the world remain unchanged. The show does not suggest things will get better. Yet, if we take a moment to admit how bad things are, maybe we can find some common, solid ground. And that’s a start.
read more

FRUMA-SARAH Ready For Her Close-Up — Review

July 15, 2021

By

Juan A. Ramirez

on

July 15, 2021

In E. Dale Smith’s new one-act play Fruma-Sarah (Waiting in the Wings), Jackie Hoffman stars as Ariana Russo, an embittered actor playing the ghost Fruma-Sarah in a community theatre production of Fiddler on the Roof.
read more

Classic EARNEST At Berkshire Theatre Group — Review

June 30, 2021

By

Kobi Kassal

on

June 30, 2021

The Importance of Being Earnest, currently playing at Berkshire Theatre Group’s Unicorn Theatre in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, is pretty marvelous. Oscar Wilde’s witty comedic masterpiece begins BTG’s summer season and marks the company’s and this critic’s first indoor theatrical experience in many, many months. 
read more

Madeline Sayet Explores WHERE WE BELONG at Woolly Mammoth — Review

June 29, 2021

By

Nathan Pugh

on

June 29, 2021

Madeline Sayet’s one-woman filmed show Where We Belong, now streaming through Washington D.C.’s Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company and Folger Shakespeare Library. Over the course of 80 minutes, Sayet gracefully explores the places she has tried to reclaim as her own—Shakespeare’s words, her Mohegan identity, her ancestors—and ultimately asks why we need to belong somewhere at all.
Go Up