Theatre Women Awards Celebrated over Zoom

Photo: League of Professional Theatre Women
Meg Masseron
No items found.
June 9, 2021 8:23 AM

This past Monday evening, June 7th, 2021, the League of Professional Theatre Women held their Theatre Women Awards Gala over Zoom. Co-Presidents Shellen Lubin and Mary Hodges hosted the annual event, which kicked off with a speech from Broadway producer Daryl Roth and playwright Theresa Rebeck. 

At what many likely hope will be one of the last Zoom events to occur within our industry, hope and enthusiasm was emphasized for the community going forward. “I would like to welcome laughter into the theatre as we move forward in time and gives us an opportunity to laugh together...I invite all women to join us in this hopeful moment,” shared Rebeck in the opening statements. 

Amongst the award recipients were: Mei Ann Teo with the Josephine Abady Award, Stephanie Berry with the Lee Reynolds Award, Sheila Rae with the LPTW Special Award for Meritorious Service, Cookie Jordan with the Ruth Morley Design Award, Taylor Reynolds with the Lucille Lortel Award, Meghan Finn with the Lucille Lortel Visionary Award, and Estelle Parsons with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The awards were presented by Troy Anthony, Melody Brooks, Joan D. Firestone, Joe Barros, Montana Blanco, Gina Femis, Susan Bernfield, and Martha Gehman.

The League of Professional Theatre Women looks forward to in-person programs returning in the fall, as well as another year of honoring and celebrating the success of women in theatre as it returns to our stages.

No items found.
Meg Masseron

Meg Masseron is a theatre journalist based in New York City, and a recent graduate of Marymount Manhattan College, where she studied Digital Journalism and Theatre History. She’s passionate about theatre criticism, body positivity, accessibility and disability advocacy, musicals that debuted between 1980 and 1995, intersectional feminism, and $1 drink nights at Applebee’s. She tends to write about all of these things, save for the Applebee’s cocktails.