2020 Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre Are Announced Including Fred Gallo, Irene Gandy, Beverly Jenkins and New Federal Theatre

Tony Awards
Woodie King Jr. attends "A Raisin In The Sun" | Photo: Robin Marchant/Getty Images
Kobi Kassal
No items found.
August 4, 2021 11:05 AM

It was announced today that the The Tony Awards Administration Committee will present the 2020 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre to four outstanding contributors to the Broadway industry: Fred Gallo, President of PRG Scenic Technologies; Broadway press agent Irene Gandy; stage manager Beverly Jenkins and New Federal Theatre, Woodie King, Jr. Founder. 

“We are thrilled to recognize these deserving individuals and organizations with Tony Honors this year,” said Heather Hitchens, President of the American Theatre Wing and Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League.  “New Federal Theatre, Fred Gallo, Irene Gandy, and Beverly Jenkins have made immeasurable contributions to the theatre community, and their impact will be felt for years to come.  We could not think of a more deserving group of honorees, and we are proud to recognize their many achievements!”

 Established in 1990, The Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre are awarded annually to institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theatre, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories.  

You can turn in to watch the 74th Annual Tony Awards on September 26th beginning at 7pm ET on Paramount+, followed by a live telecast on CBS that evening. 

No items found.
Kobi Kassal

Hailing from sunny South Florida, Kobi Kassal founded Theatrely (formerly Theatre Talk Boston) while attending Boston University. He is an avid theatre attender and can be found seeing a performance most nights of the week (in normal times!) He is interested in the cross section of theatre, popular culture, hospitality, and politics. He also loves a good bagel!