Audra McDonald, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Kelli O’Hara and More Set For RAGTIME Reunion Concert

Audra McDonald, Brian Stokes Mitchell, and Kelli O'Hara

Amanda Marie Miller
No items found.
January 31, 2023 11:41 AM

The long-awaited Ragtime reunion has been scheduled! The Entertainment Community Fund will present a One Night Only Benefit Reunion Concert of the musical Monday, March 27. Originally scheduled for 2020, this concert will take place at the Minskoff Theatre and will celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the show’s opening on Broadway in 1998. The performance is currently sold out.

“We’re thrilled to share this Ragtime news with everyone who has waited patiently for so many years, as we and the creative team have worked diligently to bring this one-night-only reunion concert safely and beautifully to the stage,” said Entertainment Community Fund CEO Joe Benincasa.

Original Broadway cast members Audra McDonald (Sarah), Brian Stokes Mitchell (Coalhouse Walker, Jr.), and Peter Friedman (Tateh) will reprise their roles. Tony Award winner Kelli O’Hara will join the cast as “Mother,” the role originally performed by the late Marin Mazzie. The performance will be dedicated to Mazzie, Terrence McNally, Frank Galati, E.L. Doctorow, and more.

“Our Ragtime family, the Broadway community and so many others were devastated by the passing of our beloved playwright, Terrance McNally,” said Entertainment Community Fund Chair Brian Stokes Mitchell. “We also mourn the recent loss of our original Broadway director, Frank Galati, and of course our dear Marin Mazzie. We dedicate this grand reunion to their memory, and honor all those in the Ragtime family who are no longer with us.”

Additional cast members for the March performance include Mark Aldrich, Shaun Amyot, John D. Baker, Dara Paige Bloomfield, Sandra M. Bonitto, Mark Cassius, Jamie Chandler-Torns, Albert Christmas, Dioni Michelle Collins, Jim Corti, Pierce Cravens, Larry Daggett, Bernard Dotson, Roberta Duchak, Donna Dunmire, Adam Dyer, Duane Martin Foster, Patty Goble, Darlene Bel Grayson, Elisa Heinsohn, David Hess, Rosena Hill, Adam Hunter, Mark Jacoby, Anne Kanengeiser, Judy Kaye, Mary Sharon Komarek (Dziedzic), Joe Langworth, Joe Locarro,  Dan Manning, Michael X. Martin, Mary McCandless, Allyson Tucker Mitchell, Anne L. Nathan, Monica Patton (Richards), Lynette Perry, Orgena Rose, Gordon Stanley, Steven Sutcliffe, Todd Thurston, Vanessa Townsell-Crisp, Rema Webb, Leon Williams, Bruce Winant and Eric Jordan Young.

Ragtime opened on Broadway January 18, 1998, at the Ford Center for the Performing Arts (now the Lyric Theatre). The musical played 834 performances and received 14 Tony Award nominations (with wins including Best Book of a Musical (Terrence McNally), Best Original Score (Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens), Best Featured Actress in a Musical (Audra McDonald) and Best Orchestrations (William David Brohn)). 

The evening at the Minskoff will be directed by Stafford Arima, with James Moore as music director and conductor. Both Arima and Moore were involved with the original Broadway production, as associate resident director and associate conductor, respectively. Wendall K. Harrington and Shawn Boyle will serve as the evening’s projections designers, Peter Hylenski as sound designer, Don Holder as lighting designer, Tracy Christensen as costume designer and casting by MUNGIOLI THEATRICALS, INC., Arnold J. Mungioli, CSA. This evening is executive produced by Robert Pullen of Nouveau Productions. 

For additional information on the Entertainment Community Fund or for an update on previously purchased tickets, visit here.

No items found.
Amanda Marie Miller

Amanda Marie Miller is an NYC-based writer and creative with an interest in pop culture and new work development. Amanda is from Kansas City and loves to talk about fan engagement and her most recent playlists. You can typically find her hosting bar trivia or searching for an iced americano.

No items found.