EXCLUSIVE: Listen to 'Pirelli's Miracle Elixir' from SWEENEY TODD


Nicholas Christopher and the company of Sweeney Todd | Photo: Matthew Murphy and Evan Zimmerman

Jordanna Brody
No items found.
September 7, 2023 11:53 AM

"Ladies and gentlemen! May I have your attention, please?" Ahead of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street's full album release on streaming and digital platforms on Friday, September 8, listen to "Pirelli's Miracle Elixir" below!

The album will be available from Warner Music Group’s Arts Music and Reprise Records on Friday, September 8. You can pre-save the album here.

The acclaimed Broadway revival stars Tony and Grammy-nominated multi-platinum recording artist Josh Groban and Tony Award winner Annaleigh Ashford, and is directed by Thomas Kail. Featuring music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, and a book by Hugh Wheeler, from an adaptation by Christopher Bond, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street began performances on February 26, and opened on March 26, at Broadway’s Lunt-Fontanne Theatre. Produced by Alex Lacamoire and co-produced by Thomas Kail, the cast recording will feature Jonathan Tunick’s expansive original 26-player orchestration from the original production.

For the cast album, joining Groban as Sweeney Todd and Ashford as Mrs. Lovett are Jordan Fisher as Anthony, Gaten Matarazzo as Tobias, Tony Award winner and Laurence Olivier Award nominee Ruthie Ann Miles as Beggar Woman, Maria Bilbao as Johanna, Jamie Jackson as Judge Turpin, John Rapson as Beadle Bamford, and Nicholas Christopher as Pirelli / Standby for Sweeney Todd.

The cast also includes Galyana Castillo, Jonathan Christopher, Dwayne Cooper, Kyrie Courter, Taeler Cyrus, Timothy Hughes, Paul-Jordan Jansen, Alicia Kaori, Michael Kuhn, Raymond J. Lee, Megan Ort, Patricia Phillips, Mia Pinero, Samantha Pollino, Lexi Rabadi, Nathan Salstone, Kristie Dale Sanders, Stephen Tewksbury, Daniel Torres, Felix Torrez-Ponce, Jeanna de Waal, DeLaney Westfall, and Hennessy Winkler.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street won two 2023 Tony Awards, for Best Lighting Design of a Musical (Natasha Katz) and Best Sound Design of a Musical (Nevin Steinberg). The production was nominated for six additional 2023 Tony Awards, including Best Revival of a Musical, Best Leading Actor in a Musical for Josh Groban, Best Leading Actress in a Musical for Annaleigh Ashford, and Best Featured Actress in a Musical for Ruthie Ann Miles. Sweeney Todd is also the winner of three 2023 Drama Desk Awards: Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical (Annaleigh Ashford), Outstanding Direction of a Musical (Thomas Kail), and Outstanding Lighting Design of a Musical (Natasha Katz). Annaleigh Ashford also received the 2023 Drama League Distinguished Performance Award for her role as Mrs. Lovett.

For the first time since 1980, Broadway audiences will experience Stephen Sondheim’s Tony Award-winning score as it was performed in the original production—with Jonathan Tunick’s original 26-player orchestration on an epic scale. Tony Award–winning director Thomas Kail helms the return of this musical thriller starring Tony and Grammy nominee Josh Groban as Sweeney Todd, and Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford as Mrs. Lovett.

The original Broadway production of Sweeney Todd was the winner of eight 1980 Tony Awards including Best Musical, Best Book, Best Score, and Best Direction for Hal Prince. Its London premiere won the 1980 Olivier Award for Best Musical.

Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler’s landmark musical, from an adaptation by Christopher Bond, tells the tale of a resourceful pie shop owner and a vengeful barber out for blood. After he’s sent away by a corrupt judge, Sweeney returns to London years later seeking his long-lost family, and forms an unlikely partnership with Mrs. Lovett, who serves up pies underneath his former shop. Together, they wreak havoc on Fleet Street and serve up the hottest – and most unsettling – pies in London.

Tony winner Alex Lacamoire also serves as Music Supervisor, and Olivier Award winner Steven Hoggett choreographs with set design by Tony Award winner Mimi Lien, costume design by Tony Award nominee Emilio Sosa, lighting design by seven-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, and sound design by Tony Award winner Nevin Steinberg. J. Jared Janas serves as Wig, Hair, & Makeup Designer and special effects design is by Jeremy Chernick. Casting is by The Telsey Office. Baseline Theatrical serves as General Manager. Cody Renard Richard serves as Production Stage Manager.

For more information about the show and tickets, click here.

No items found.
Jordanna Brody

Originally from South Florida, Jordanna Brody graduated from Emerson College with a BFA in Theatre Education and Performance in 2019. Her experience teaching, performing, directing, and working behind the scenes informs her perspective on theatre in every way. She is passionate about uplifting marginalized voices and innovative theatrical experiences.