NEW YORK, NEW YORK, SOME LIKE IT HOT, LEOPOLDSTADT Lead 2023 Outer Critics Circle Award Nominations


Jim Borstelmann | Photo: Paul Kolnik

Jordanna Brody
No items found.
April 26, 2023 10:00 AM

It’s officially awards season, folks. The Outer Critics Circle have revealed their favorites of the 2021-2022 season. Leading the pack are Broadway musicals New York, New York and Some Like It Hot with twelve and ten nominations, respectively. Off-Broadway's Downstate and Broadway's Leopoldstadt lead the plays with six nods each.

The winners will be announced May 16, with an in-person ceremony honoring the recipients May 25 at the Bruno Walter Auditorium at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

Among the night’s biggest honors: for Outstanding New Broadway Musical, the nominees are & Juliet, A Beautiful Noise, the Neil Diamond Musical, New York, New York, Shucked, and Some Like It Hot. Nominated for Outstanding New Broadway Play are Good Night, Oscar by Doug Wright, Leopoldstadt by Tom Stoppard, Life of Pi by Lolita Chakrabarti, Peter Pan Goes Wrong by Henry Lewis, Jonathan Sayer and Henry Shields, and Summer, 1976 by David Auburn.

Elsewhere, the nominees for Outstanding Score are Between the Lines (Kate Anderson and Elyssa Samsel), Shucked (Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally), New York, New York (John Kander, Fred Ebb, and Lin-Manuel Miranda), The Bedwetter (Adam Schlesinger and Sarah Silverman), and Some Like It Hot (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman). There are 24 more categories in which the best and brightest of the season will compete. For a full list of nominees, see below.

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
& Juliet

A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical
New York, New York


Some Like It Hot

Outstanding New Broadway Play

Good Night, Oscar


Life of Pi

Peter Pan Goes Wrong

Summer, 1976

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical

The Bedwetter

Between the Lines

The Harder They Come

Only Gold

Without You

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

Becomes a Woman 

A Case for the Existence of God 

Chester Bailey 


Letters from Max, a ritual 

John Gassner Award for New American Play (Preferably by a New Playwright)

Dark Disabled Stories by Ryan J. Haddad

Epiphany by Brian Watkins

Fat Ham by James Ijames

Wolf Play by Hansol Jung

You Will Get Sick by Noah Diaz

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)

Death of a Salesman

Ohio State Murders


Wedding Band

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)

A Man of No Importance

Into the Woods

Merrily We Roll Along


Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Broadway Musical

Micaela Diamond – Parade

J. Harrison Ghee – Some Like It Hot

Caroline Innerbichler – Shucked

Colton Ryan – New York, New York

Anna Uzele – New York, New York

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Broadway Musical

Kevin Del Aguila – Some Like It Hot

Julia Lester – Into the Woods

Alex Newell – Shucked

NaTasha Yvette Williams – Some Like It Hot

Betsy Wolfe - & Juliet

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Broadway Play

Hiran Abeysekera – Life of Pi

Jessica Chastain – A Doll's House

Corey Hawkins – Topdog/Underdog

Sean Hayes – Good Night, Oscar

Audra McDonald – Ohio State Murders

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Broadway Play

Danielle Brooks – The Piano Lesson

Sharon D Clarke – Death of a Salesman

Michael Potts – The Piano Lesson

Brandon Uranowitz – Leopoldstadt

David Zayas – Cost of Living

Outstanding Lead Performer in an Off-Broadway Play

Ephraim Birney – Chester Bailey

Brittany Bradford – Wedding Band

Marylouise Burke - Epiphany

Bill Irwin – Endgame
Emma Pfitzer Price – Becomes a Woman

Outstanding Featured Performer in an Off-Broadway Play

Veanne Cox – Wedding Band

Glenn Davis – Downstate

K. Todd Freeman – Downstate

Francis Guinan - Downstate

Susanna Guzman - Downstate

Outstanding Lead Performer in an Off-Broadway Musical

Nicholas Barasch – The Butcher Boy

Callum Francis – Kinky Boots

Jonathan Groff – Merrily We Roll Along

Natey Jones – The Harder They Come

Marla Mindelle – Titanique

Outstanding Featured Performer in an Off-Broadway Musical

Vicki Lewis – Between the Lines

Lindsay Mendez – Merrily We Roll Along

Daniel Radcliffe – Merrily We Roll Along

A.J. Shively – A Man of No Importance

Mare Winningham – A Man of No Importance

Outstanding Solo Performance

Mike Birbiglia – The Old Man & the Pool

Jodie Comer – Prima Facie

Jefferson Mays – A Christmas Carol

Sam Morrison – Sugar Daddy

Anthony Rapp – Without You

Outstanding New Score

Kate Anderson and Elyssa Samsel – Between the Lines 

Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally – Shucked

John Kander, Fred Ebb, and Lin-Manuel Miranda – New York, New York

Adam Schlesinger and Sarah Silverman – The Bedwetter

Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman – Some Like It Hot

Outstanding Book of a Musical

Tye Blue, Marla Mindelle, Constantine Rousouli - Titanique

Robert Horn – Shucked

Matthew López and Amber Ruffin – Some Like it Hot

Suzan-Lori Parks – The Harder They Come

David West Read - & Juliet

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)

Jason Ardizzone-West – Wedding Band

John Lee Beatty - Epiphany

Beowulf Boritt – New York, New York

Mimi Lien – Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Simon Scullion – Peter Pan Goes Wrong

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)

Dede Ayite – Topdog/Underdog

Gregg Barnes – Some Like it Hot

Brigitte Reiffenstuel – Leopoldstadt

Paloma Young - & Juliet

Donna Zakowska – New York, New York

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)

Neil Austin – Leopoldstadt

Ken Billington – New York, New York

Ben Stanton – A Christmas Carol

Natasha Katz – Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Tim Lutkin – Life of Pi

Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical)

John Gromada - Jasper

Kai Harada – New York, New York

Daniel Kluger – Epiphany

André Pluess – Good Night, Oscar

Joshua D. Reid – A Christmas Carol

Outstanding Video or Projection Design (Play or Musical)

Christopher Ash and Beowulf Boritt – New York, New York

Andrzej Goulding – Life of Pi

Lucy Mackinnon – A Christmas Carol

Isaac Madge - Leopoldstadt

Sven Ortel – Parade

Outstanding Orchestrations

Bryan Carter and Charlie Rosen – Some Like It Hot

Sam Davis and Daryl Waters – New York, New York

Jason Howland – Shucked

Bill Sherman and Dominic Fallacaro - & Juliet

Jonathan Tunick – Merrily We Roll Along

Outstanding Director of a Musical

Michael Arden – Parade

Maria Friedman – Merrily We Roll Along

Casey Nicholaw – Some Like It Hot

Jack O'Brien – Shucked

Susan Stroman – New York, New York

Outstanding Choreography

Andy Blankenbuehler – Only Gold

Edgar Godineaux – The Harder They Come

Casey Nicholaw – Some Like It Hot

Susan Stroman – New York, New York

Jennifer Weber - & Juliet

Outstanding Director of a Play
Kenny Leon – Topdog/Underdog

Pam MacKinnon – Downstate

Patrick Marber - Leopoldstadt

Adam Meggido – Peter Pan Goes Wrong

Max Webster – Life of Pi

In addition to the nominees, a special achievement award will be presented to B.H. Barry, one of the world's foremost fight directors, in recognition of a distinguished six-decade career capped off with Camelot at Lincoln Center.

No items found.
Jordanna Brody

Originally from South Florida, Jordanna Brody graduated from Emerson College with a BFA in Theatre Education and Performance in 2019. Her experience teaching, performing, directing, and working behind the scenes informs her perspective on theatre in every way. She is passionate about uplifting marginalized voices and innovative theatrical experiences.

No items found.