Theatre World Awards to Celebrate Jacquel Spivey, Sharon D Clarke, Patrick J. Adams, More 


Jacquel Spivey in A Strange Loop | Photo: Marc J. Franklin

Dan Meyer
No items found.
May 6, 2022 1:46 PM

The Theatre World Awards has announced this year’s honorees for Outstanding Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production, celebrating the brightest new stars of the 2021-2022 season. A ceremony will be held June 6 in-person at the Circle in the Square Theatre, where a revival of American Buffalo is currently playing.

The recipients (in alphabetical order) are: Patrick J. Adams, Take Me Out; Yair Ben-Dor, Prayer for the French Republic; Kearstin Piper Brown, Intimate Apparel; Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, Or Change; Enrico Colantoni, Birthday Candles; Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo; Crystal Finn, Birthday Candles; Gaby French, Hangmen; Myles Frost, MJ The Musical; Jacquel Spivey, A Strange Loop; Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady; and Kara Young, Clyde’s.

The ceremony will be hosted by theatre journalist Peter Filichia with Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora directing the event.  The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors and Dale Badway producing.

Presenters, who are traditionally past honorees, will be announced soon. The recipients for this year’s Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater and the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will also be revealed at a later date.

First presented in 1945, the awards were founded by John Willis and are the oldest awards given for NYC debut performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their work in a production that opened in the most recent season. Previous winners include Liza Minnelli, Bernadette Peters, Audra McDonald, Cynthia Erivo, Danielle Brooks, Lupita Nyong'o, Jeremy Pope, and Bonnie Milligan.

The Theatre World Award honorees are chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee which is composed of Linda Armstrong, David Cote, Joe Dziemianowicz, Peter Filichia, David Finkle, Elysa Gardner, Harry Haun, Cary Wong, and Frank Scheck.

For more information, click here

No items found.
Dan Meyer

Dan joins Theatrely after previously serving as an Assistant Editor at Playbill. His favorite musicals are fast, historical, and witty, like Six, Cabaret, and Sweeney Todd. He likes his plays dark and funny.